Home » Uncategorized » Why I Chose to Swaddle My Kids…

Why I Chose to Swaddle My Kids…

There were a few disagreements when I began to swaddle my babies after I had them, especially from my mom since that was not something she did when I was born. But there are a lot of good things that can come from swaddling your baby.

I liked to swaddle my kids because it kept them from startling themselves awake at night. After babies are born they have a natural startle reflex where they get scared in their sleep and their arms will fly up and scare them to the point where they wake up. As a new mom, you want to keep your baby asleep and not waking up every 5 minutes. Even when you just try to lay them down in their crib, it can cause them to startle themselves awake. Swaddling helps keep their arms close to their body so they don’t startle themselves.

There are many different kinds of swaddles out there as well. There is the blanket swaddle which includes a lot of twisting, tying, and wrapping. The blanket swaddle is nice because there are so many different colors and fabrics available to you and different positions you’re able to swaddle baby in.

There is also the sleep sack swaddle which only has a zipper going up the middle which requires no wrapping or twisting. I really liked the sleep sack swaddle because it allows the baby to move their arms and legs naturally as they would in the womb, but still doesn’t allow them to fully lift up their arms and startle themselves.

The velcro swaddle was my least favorite because my kids could always pull their arms out of them and it wasn’t tight enough to even hold their arms down since the velcro continued to come loose each time I used it (and it was also difficult to wash).

I think there are a lot of good benefits when it comes to swaddling babies. It calms them down and helps them stay asleep longer, it can keep them warm without having any loose blankets in the crib, and there are many different options for different parents and babies preferences.

Leave a Reply

