Home » Uncategorized » Cross Country Moving?

Cross Country Moving?

It can be a very big decision to move across the country, especially when you basically spent your whole life in one place. I have lived in Seattle, WA since I was 5 years old, but now that I have two young kids and became a mom very young, it’s really difficult to afford to live here. Right now Seattle is on its path to become the most expensive city in the United States to live in (even more expensive than California). Houses are averaging at about at least $550,000. Some of these houses were even built in the 1970’s. Any of the newer houses are averaging at $800,000 – $1,000,000 right now. This is something that unfortunately is really difficult for us to afford and Gian has some family in Georgia and a house available for us to move into.

The differences in prices between Seattle and Georgia is definitely a huge difference. House prices are around $250,000 – $350,000 in Georgia. Gas in Seattle is $2.85 and in Georgia it’s at $2.11. The schools have better ratings in Georgia and even the prices of food are cheaper.

We have lived in Georgia before for about 6 months at a time for each of my pregnancies and it was really difficult for me to be away from my home and as much as I wish I could make it work to live in Seattle, it’s just not becoming a reality. I need to do what is best for my children and there are many benefits to my family for moving to Georgia.

We would have a house ready for us to live in, I would only have to work part time if even, Gian’s income stays the same no matter which state we live in, and I could focus more of my time giving my children the childhood that they deserve. It will be a huge transition and it’s not happening anytime in the near future, but it is definitely a serious thought crossing our minds.

If you have any advice on how to cope with moving away from your family, let me know!

Leave a comment